Posted in books, Fantasy, List

7 Gripping Fantasy Books to Read If You Like Magic

Wizards, fairies, monsters, spells, edge-of-the-seat battles between good and evil- what’s not to like about fantasy books? But fantasy as a genre can be hard to grasp for some readers. (There are those who don’t like Harry Potter😯 but I ain’t judging). But if you are a fan of flying objects, things happening with someone’s mind or hands, and invisible energies that can do either good or harm, then here are some brilliant fantasy books for you to check out. Have a look.

1. Don’t Breathe a Word by Jennifer McMahon

Don't Breathe a Word

When I was into e-book reading, I read many exciting books, one of which was this one. If you are looking for the best fantasy books for adults, then I strongly recommend Don’t Breathe a Word. It is not a happy fairy tale but a dark and haunting fantasy book whose strong point is its mystery. It shocks you, makes you feel the chill running down your spine, and takes you into a world of fantasy that is nerve-wracking. This one is not for the weak-hearted, so think twice before picking this one.

2. Hunted by the Sky and 3. Rising Like a Storm by Tanaz Bhathena

Hunted by the Sky and Rising Like a Storm

If you like gorging on series, but don’t have the patience or interest to commit to long ones, this mini fantasy series is a perfect pick for you. Featuring wizards and witches, bubbling romance, and a raging battle for a cause, the two books keep you hooked till the end. The author makes sure you don’t lose interest by punctuating the story with twists and a gushy love story.

4. The Ickabog by J.K. Rowling

The Ickabog

This is a delightful fantasy book for teens and adults alike. J.K. Rowling again proves her ability to transport her readers with her captivating fantasy tales. This is a story about a monster who lives far away from the kingdom of Cornucopia. The detailed descriptions of the towns, their people, and the food they eat are marvelous. As you read this hardbound book, you can’t help but draw comparisons with Harry Potter. It is unjustified because though it is in a similar genre and by the same author, the story and characters are different. The book is exciting but it is a little toned down for kids. Nonetheless, it is gripping and feel-good. What’s more to like is its pages are filled with drawings from kids that were selected as part of a competition.

5. The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern

The Book of Tomorrow

If you like fantasy books minus witches, spells, or evil forces, then The Book of Tomorrow should appeal to you. It features a magical book and a girl who can make things happen by writing into it. The unique story, the raw emotions of the characters, and Ahern’s brilliant writing make this a highly enticing read.

6. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Another dark fantasy book for adults, this novel is a page-turner. It is a time travel story full of secrets, adventure, and jump-start twists. This book is for those who have the stomach for disturbing stories and don’t mind constant shifting times. This is the first book in the trilogy followed by Hollow City and Library of Souls.

7. The Girl Who Drank the Moon

This fantasy novel is adorable. There is magic not only in its story but writing too. The author captivates you with her words and story combined. And that is a marvelous feat. The Girl Who Drank the Moon is a story about young Luna who gets raised by an old witch, a large swamp monster, and a tiny pocket-sized dragon. It has adventure, emotion, and, of course, magic. Read this if you haven’t already.

Did you like the list? Which ones would you add to these?

5 thoughts on “7 Gripping Fantasy Books to Read If You Like Magic

  1. Really great post. I haven’t read many of these so will be adding some to my TBR list. By the way your site seems to be glitching on the Reader. Just wanted to let you know.

Leave a Reply